Kool & the Gang Drop New Album ‘Perfect Union’ Through Omnivore Recordings this August

Kool and the Gang in 1969 - Courtesy

Kool & the Gang will release their new album, Perfect Union, August 20, 2021 on Omnivore Recordings through its Ru-Jac Records imprint — the first new recording on the historic R&B label.

The group’s new project was produced by the late Ronald Khalis Bell, Kool’s brother, who passed away in 2020. The album, a CD-Digital release, contains ten tracks including the new single, the rap version of “Pursuit of Happiness,” and “Sexy (Where’d You Get Yours),” which hit #16 on the Adult R&B charts. The band is currently embarking on a worldwide tour.

Perfect Union is Kool & the Gang’s first album since 2011 and their first with Omnivore. Their legendary long run in the music industry has produced iconic songs such as “Celebration,” “Ladies Night,” “Get Down On it,”Jungle Boogie,” “Summer Madness,” and “Open Sesame,” which have earned them two Grammy Awards, seven American Music Awards, 25 Top Ten R&B hits, nine Top Ten Pop hits and 31 gold and platinum albums.

Track listing:

  1. Pursuit Of Happiness
  2. The Weekend
  3. Leave It On The Dance Floor
  4. High
  5. Sexy (Where’d You Get Yours)
  6. All To Myself
  7. R.O.Y.A.L.T.Y. (Kool & The Gang Mix)
  8. Hold On
  9. Good Time
  10. Pursuit Of Happiness (Rap Version)

Pre-order link: www.omnivorerecordings.com/shop/perfect-union