T Bone Burnett Releases New Song off ‘Invisible Light: Spells’ Album

T Bone Burnett, Jay Bellerose and Keefus Ciancia have unveiled a new song from their forthcoming album, The Invisible Light: Spells.

The Invisible Light: Spells features two very different versions of the newly released track, “Mother Cross,” including a reprise. The song brings to light the reason behind false realities: Fear, belief and willing forgetfulness.

This is the second installment of The Invisible Light trilogy, following 2019’s The Invisible Light: Acoustic Space.

The Invisible Light is a blend of different styles including trance, electronic, folk, tribal and global music. At the heart of this trilogy is technology and how it has advanced significantly throughout the course of the last century, with radio, film, television and the Internet serving as central parts of our lives. 

In acoustic space, people hear from every direction at once, the center is everywhere, and there is no border.

The Invisible Light: Spells

Joseph Henry ‘T Bone’ Burnett is a producer, musician and songwriter. Burnett most recently released Acoustic Space, the first full-length installment in The Invisible Light trilogy, which explores the idea that society has been subject to a programming pandemic which is causing us to lose our ability to differentiate fact from fiction. 

Burnett also composed and produced the music for the series True Detective, and his film work includes O Brother, Where Art Thou?, The Big Lebowski, Cold Mountain, The Hunger Games, Crazy Heart and Walk The Line, among others. 

He has collaborated with numerous artists including Bob Dylan, Elvis Costello and Roy Orbison, and won Album of the Year and Record of the Year Grammy Awards for Robert Plant and Alison Krauss’ Raising Sand.

Jay Bellerose is a percussionist best known for his live performance work. His drums and percussion credits include work with renowned artists such as Elton John, Leon Russell, Allen Toussaint, Ray LaMontagne, Gregg Allman, Regina Spektor, Willie Nelson, Allison Krauss and Robert Plant, Bonnie Raitt, Joe Henry and Loudon Wainwright III.

Musician Keefus Ciancia has worked with a range of artists including Kimbra, Nikka Costa, Benji Hughes and Cassandra Wilson. Together with Jade Vincent he formed The Jade Vincent Experiment, an experimental film-noir band which led them to connect with T Bone Burnett after he heard their performance on KCRW. 

Ciancia and Burnett’s relationship blossomed, the two collaborating on several projects including HBO’s True Detective and The Coen Brothers’ The Ladykillers.

Listen/ Share here.


1. Realities.com

2. I’m Starting a New Life Today

3. Mother Cross (We Think We Think)

4. A Better Day

5. Casting A Spell

6. You May Leave But This Will Bring You Back

7. Mother Cross (We Think We Think) Reprise

8. Itopia Chant

9. A Better Dat (Reprise)