Ronnie James Dio to be Feted with Rainbow Event, ‘Holy Diver’ Deluxe Release

Ronnie James Dio would have turned 80 years old on July 10 and to celebrate, the Rainbow Bar & Grill on Sunset Boulevard in West Hollywood will host AT THE RAINBOW IN THE DARK, a special event for Dio family, friends, and fans, on July 7 from 7-9PM PT.

The event will be open to the public with limited capacity. Click here for more details.

AT THE RAINBOW IN THE DARK will be hosted by one of Dio’s dear friends, SiriusXM host Eddie Trunk, who will spend the evening in conversation with some of Dio’s musical collaborators and friends, with a full list to be announced soon. The complete conversations will be featured in a special “Trunk Nation LA Invasion,” airing on SiriusXM Volume (channel 106) on Friday, July 8th at 2pm ET, with replays over the weekend and available anytime on the SXM App. 

Ronnie James Dio – Courtesy image

AT THE RAINBOW IN THE DARK also falls on the eve of Rhino’s release of Holy Diver: Super Deluxe Edition, an expansive 40-track boxed set of Dio’s classic debut that will be available the following day (July 8) in 4-CD and digital formats.

Additionally, the iconic Dio music videos from the album (“Holy Diver,” “Rainbow In The Dark,” “Stand Up And Shout”) have all been newly remaster and upgraded to HD. Click here to view now.

Among the greatest heavy metal singers of all time, Dio’s career spanned five decades, touched millions of fans and pioneered his signature “devil’s horns,” one of the most popular hand gestures in the world. Dio also provided vocals, lyrics, and melodies for some of the most iconic rock albums of all time with Black Sabbath and Rainbow, before establishing his own band Dio as a metal force with their 1983 debut Holy Diver.

The new Holy Diver: Super Deluxe Edition comes with two versions of the original album. The first is a new mix of the album made by Joe Barresi (Tool, Queens of the Stone Age, Slipknot). He used the original analog tapes to remix all nine tracks on the album. The second is a newly remastered version of the original 1983 mix. The Super Deluxe Edition also features unreleased live performances and outtakes, along with a selection of rarities from the era.

CD Track Listing

CD1: Holy Diver (2022 Joe Barresi Mix) *
CD2: Holy Diver (2022 Remaster)

  1. “Stand Up And Shout”
  2. “Holy Diver”
  3. “Gypsy”
  4. “Caught In The Middle”
  5. “Don’t Talk To Strangers”
  6. “Straight Through The Heart”
  7. “Invisible”
  8. “Rainbow In The Dark”
  9. “Shame On The Night”

CD3: Live at Selland Arena, Fresno, CA, 1983 

  1. Intro *
  2. “Stand Up And Shout” *
  3. “Straight Through The Heart” *
  4. “Shame On The Night” *
  5. “Children Of The Sea” *
  6. “Holy Diver” *
  7. “Heaven And Hell” – including guitar solo *
  8. “Rainbow In The Dark” *
  9. “Man On The Silver Mountain” *
  10. “Starstuck” *
  11. “Man On The Silver Mountain” – reprise *
  12. “Don’t Talk To Strangers” *

CD4: Outtakes, Singles & B-Sides
Tracks 1-7 unreleased

  1. “Evil Eyes” – Wyn Davis remix *
  2. “Don’t Talk To Strangers” – Take 1 (Joe Barresi mix) *
  3. “Invisible” – Take 1 (Joe Barresi mix) *
  4. “Invisible” – Take 3 (Joe Barresi mix) *
  5. “Rainbow In The Dark” – Alternative Guitar Solo Version (Joe Barresi mix) *
  6. “Straight Through The Heart” – Take 2 (Joe Barresi mix) *
  7. “Straight Through The Heart” – Take 3 (Joe Barresi mix)*
  8. “Rainbow In The Dark” – 7” Mono Edit
  9. “Evil Eyes” – 1983 Version. B-Side of “Holy Diver”
  10. “Rainbow In The Dark” – 7” Stereo Edit

* previously unreleased

HOLY DIVER: 2022 Joe Barresi Mix
2-LP Clear Vinyl Track Listing

LP1: Side One

  1. “Stand Up And Shout”
  2. “Holy Diver”
  3. “Gypsy”
  4. “Caught In The Middle”

LP1: Side Two

  1. “Don’t Talk To Strangers”
  2. “Straight Through The Heart”
  3. “Invisible”

LP2: Side One

  1. “Rainbow In The Dark”
  2. “Shame On The Night”

Bonus Track

  1. “Evil Eyes” – 1983 Version. B-Side of “Holy Diver”

LP2: Side Two